Understanding Low Power(sleep) handling with LMIC

Hello Terry, guys.

I run through LMIC documentation and managed (was not easy for me as I am new to LoRa) to sending packets over Helium (feather M0 + RFM 868Mhz).

Now I am in the stage to start putting it into sleep. But I can not see any commands about sleep in this library.

Q1. What are the power save methods / strategies with LMIC libraries? As soon as a packet is sent, is LoRa put into low power mode? If no, how to put LoRa into sleep pls?

Q2. I have noticed we are waiting for a DW1 and DW2. I need only one way communication. How to turn off waiting and receiving in DW1 and DW2? It would save 2 seconds of LoRa consumption after each packet. I thought this is already solved and it is standard with LoRa simple sensor transmitters to minimize power consumption.

Thanks,
Dado

And one finding as I saw some questions about it.

SF Modes are wrongly mapped - when you set DR_SF7 it is actually SF11
DR_SF8 → SF10
DR_SF11 → SF7

So I am using rather constants EU868_DR_SF7 to EU868_DR_SF11 - here it match.

Terry, why is not allowed EU Wide Band 250kHz in your libraries?
It is valid SF mode for Helium, same as SF12 - which is also not possible to set :

Sorry you’re having trouble. The Helium support was added during the Helium switchover from their proprietary LongFi spec to LoRaWAN. At that time, they only supported US. So I only added US. Since that time, they added regions without me having any way to know – I don’t do Discord or the various other channels that they use for rolling out info.

So, EU isn’t directly supported, but if you use “generic” and if Helium is really LoRaWAN compliant, it should work fine.

The DR and SF stuff is very confusing, and it’s possible that there’s a typo in the EU headers, but remember that DRs ascend from a region-specific base spreading factor; as DRs go up, SFs decrease. In particular:

• DR0 is SF12 in Europe, but DR is SF10 the US. So you can’t portably use DRs to get SFs.