Decouple LMIC_requestNetworkTime

Hi,

just to be clear, i’m pretty new to the Library and i have no idea whats going on in the background for the most part. I was just wondering if it was possible to decouple the enqueueing of the DeviceTimeReq mac command from the actual receiving of the Time.

I have a setup in which a ESP32 (class a) goes into deepsleep most of the time. When the mcu wakes up it is supposed to read some sensors send an uplink and go back to sleep. What i am trying to achieve is that the esp adds the maccommand to an uplink (every tenth uplink or something) and go back to sleep. The next time the esp wakes up the downlink with the requested time arrives. At this point the callback isn’t triggered of course because there was a deepsleep in between.

Should this be achieveable at this point? Or am i totally missing something? Or is there some workaround?
I would like to avoid staying awake between two uplinks because the interval might be very long and power is limited.
Another way if thought of would be to send a empty dummy Payload after the initial mac command. but thats also kinda wasteful.

Hope someone can point me in the right direction.
thanks

The downlink has to happen as part of the class A exchange (which a fixed time after the uplink carrying the time). The time sent is referenced to that uplink, and can only be interpreted based on the timing of the class A exchange.

So you CAN’T sleep for any appreciable time before the downlink; that’s just not how this works. You can, of course, sleep during the delay to the RX window, but that is a bit complex and doesn’t save much power. But it simply is not LoRaWAN – the downlink can’t be sent except in response to an uplink. So what I understand you to be describing won’t work.

If you ran a Class B device, you can get the time from the beacon; but Class B support is unstable in the current version of the LMIC, unfortunately.

Best regards,
–Terry